A give-away!

I can’t send the little jacket I posted about yesterday to my godson for his new baby – I noticed a flaw in it – the photos showed it up:

11can you see there is a change in the stitches in a row on the top left hand side of the jacket (top right in the picture). I had sort of noticed it, but pushed it to the back of my mind (do you do that sometimes?). i

I knitted the jacket a while ago, and I think I must have been so caught up in how to alter the pattern to the way I wanted it to be that I wasn’t thinking straight.

When I investigated the work I found that it looks this way on the front because I had started a new ball of wool there and the sewing in of the ends on the back has caused the slight change in how the stitches look.

I know better than to do this!!! AAAARGH! what was I thinking!!

I THOUGHT I never did this sort of thing!

As the jacket is knitted all in one, one has to take care where to change balls of yarn CERTAINLY NOT in the front where it is so obviously on show – I can’t believe I did it!

What now? Should I try to sell it as a ‘second’, unpick the whole thing (I don’t want to do that, I’m sure someone could love it), put it in a charity shop?

I know – a giveaway! Free to a good home! Let me know if you would like it, flaw and all, and I will put names in a hat and choose a winner. I will pay for the postage to where-ever you live.

The jacket is 100% wool and machine washable to fit 6 months – 1 year.

Good luck!

Update: The give-away is now closed and the little jacket is on its way to London and a baby with a very unusual name.

About Wild Daffodil

hoarder of creative goodies that will someday come in useful, enabler and supporter of creativity, lifelong knitter, artist and fabulous Granny!
This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A give-away!

  1. Pingback: Entries close 12 noon tomorrow | stonechat

  2. Awe that’s a shame… but great give-away idea! 🙂 I’ve posted this on my new KWH facebook page. My page is brand new, though, so I’m not sure how many views it will actually get… ❤

    Like

    • sandra dorey says:

      Thank you Jackie. Yes it is a shame – infuriating actually – can’t believe I did it! BUT someone will be able to enjoy it still.

      Like

  3. To me, it is still a great one! So cute! Too bad I don’t have a baby.. My friend’s daughter probably can wear that though.

    Like

  4. sandra dorey says:

    What a lovely comment – thank you!

    Like

We love getting your comments and really value your feedback.

