An English Country Garden

I had the most delicious day yesterday. A morning in my project room and an afternoon taking myself on an Artist’s Date as suggested by Julia Cameron in her book ‘The Artist’s Way’.

There is a garden, at Knitson Farmhouse, near Corfe Castle open through the National Garden Scheme, this weekend, so off I went armed with camera, doodling book and the latest knitting project.

Once off the main road there was a mile of single track road taking me up into the gorse covered hills above Swanage – I do live in a beautiful part of the world! And I love exploring bits of it I have never been to before.

The garden has been gardened for 50 years by Rachel, who took it over from her father who was, I suspect, as passionate about organic gardening and Permaculture as she is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

cream tea

 

 

Home-made scones and loganberry jam with clotted creamDSCF1305 DSCF1313 knit doodle DSCF1314 DSCF1344

Plants for sale. I bought a pumpkin plant for Rufus (3) because he has been desperate to sow some seeds since last October when we took them out of the pumpkin lantern, we sowed them a few days ago and half an hour later he was disappointed that they had not come up – he kinda thought he’d be eating one for his tea!DSCF1341 DSCF1310 DSCF1311 DSCF1315 DSCF1323 DSCF1326

A little metal teapot left in tree with moss in it, just the sort of spot a robin might choose.DSCF1319 DSCF1318 DSCF1322 DSCF1338 DSCF1316

 

DSCF1321

Plastic milk containers protecting lettuce plantsDSCF1337

The view as I ate my cream tea
DSCF1324 DSCF1325

Another view from the seat.

DSCF1333 DSCF1327 DSCF1317There were visitors there who said they came each year, and I could see why – it is a delight – I will definitely return to see the garden in a different season.

About Wild Daffodil

hoarder of creative goodies that will someday come in useful, enabler and supporter of creativity, lifelong knitter, artist and fabulous Granny!
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An English Country Garden

  1. Teapots in the trees and beauty everywhere … another lovely walk ❤

    Like

  2. sandra dorey says:

    Lovely to have you along, walking through the Dorset landscape with me!

    Like

We love getting your comments and really value your feedback.

