Skye Mandala

Yesterday was sunny!!! Hurray! At last!

Important to make the most of it, so my daughter and I took the children to South Beach, Studland.

south beach

I had been talking to Sarah about the mandala I had made in Skye and she suggested that Studland might be another place where I could do a similar project – so this was a multi-functional trip (as all good Permaculturalists will appreciate). I wanted to see the place to check it out for a future more focussed time.

I thought I would share the Skye Mandala with you:

In March 2006, I went to stay in a cottage on the west coast of Skye.

It was COLD!!!! And very beautiful.

1

There was a rich array of lichens, rocks and seaweeds all along the coast.
And I could not resist creating a Skye Mandala.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3

a

 

 

The tide was out when I started collecting seaweed and arranging it in a circle.

b

4

bbb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The white triangle in the centre is a little nest of empty egg cases from an unknown water creature.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tide was on its way in when I went for a walk.

bb

cc

01

02

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is where is was when I returned.

 

07

08

06

10

11

12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was fascinating to watch the weed float oh so gently away from the circle of broken bits of china that remained on the sea bed.

13

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tide was in, night was falling and it began to snow.

14

About Wild Daffodil

hoarder of creative goodies that will someday come in useful, enabler and supporter of creativity, lifelong knitter, artist and fabulous Granny!
This entry was posted in land art, mandalas, photographs. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skye Mandala

  1. Such a lovely little adventure 🙂

    Like

  2. TangledPen says:

    so serene… love it!

    Like

  3. sandra dorey says:

    So glad you like it. I’m really itching to do another like it and take some video of the tide coming in – waiting for warmer weather.

    Like

  4. Diane Becka says:

    Beautiful! Working with materials at hand, enjoying the interaction of the tide. Wonderful how the seaweed floated away. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

    • sandra dorey says:

      Thank you Diane, lovely to link with another person who enjoys arranging natural materials. Do you know the work of three British artists: Andy Goldsworthy, Chris Drury and Richard Long? I think you would like them, their work and how they speak about their work inspires my transient creations. I am following your site too! 🙂

      Like

We love getting your comments and really value your feedback.

