I see blank canvases everywhere …

About 20 years ago I did one of those round-the-world trips of a lifetime and on the way visited a friend in Tahiti. I was soaking up the arts and crafts in all sorts of cultures and filling my sketchbook. I became fascinated with the designs in Tahitian tattoos and decided I would like to return home with a small design tattooed on my shoulder. Every island I went to I asked for a tattoo artist and was always told he had just left the island. I don’t know whether it was because I was a woman or because I was not Tahitian, but I soon realised the polynesians were not keen on me getting a tattoo!

However the wish for a tattoo has never left me, my body is also a blank canvas. Having just turned 60! Yippeee! I LOVE being 60! I thought ‘it is now or never’ – so as a Valentine’s present to myself I visited The Tattoo Studio, co-run by a school friend of my daughter’s (I also went to school with her Mum). I took in a little sketch of what I had in mind and the lovely Alice followed it beautifully.

She made a stencil and put this on my arm first so that I could look in a mirror to check it was exactly what I wanted.

The palette and guns:

the palette

I decided that now I would like a small ‘bracelet’ on my forearm so that I could see it myself and I am absolutely thrilled with the result.

(my children are less thrilled!!!!)

tattoo

The whole process took about 2 hours – and i would say the sensation was a bit like a little burn with a pleasant buzzing sensation – less painful that a leg wax. Overall, for a new experience i give it 9/10!

About Wild Daffodil

hoarder of creative goodies that will someday come in useful, enabler and supporter of creativity, lifelong knitter, artist and fabulous Granny!
This entry was posted in Doodles, other artists. Bookmark the permalink.

We love getting your comments and really value your feedback.

