Frame?

This is how I spent Christmas Day 2012:

Although I have a large family and 8 gorgeous grandchildren, I choose to spend every other Christmas Day alone: one year with the family, and the next either on my own or off on a tinsel free adventure – i love it!

I have been inspired by Attic24‘s ‘Little Balls’, which have taken over from Doodling as my new obsession. I just HAD to make them.

I’d be interested to hear if you get creative obsessions which will just not leave you alone until they have run their course.

I love the colours Lucy uses. Her whole blog beams out vibrant colour – and have put a link in the Blogroll to the right of the page.

I had no idea how I was going to use all these balls until an idea struck;

Four years ago I was lucky enough to be able to buy a Carolyn Kardia painting called Summer Flight:

summerflight

It hangs in my sitting room (80 cm square) – when I first saw it, it looked to me like fairies dancing and I enjoy the way it seems to reflect the weather: when it is sunny, or windy, or wet. Other people see all sorts of creatures in it and the babies are fascinated by it from about 3 months onwards.

The edges are raw

edge

which does not bother me, but…

I had these little balls… so i knitted an icord.

icord and balls

My first thought was to completely surround the picture with balls and pompoms, but then I tried this out:

innernaffness

I still can’t decide if this is REALLY naff! and/or a sacrilege, but I do know I like it! so I am going to embrace my inner Naffness and enjoy!

framed

The next step is to make some cushions in the same colourway, to sit on the sofa beneath, granny squares I think.

(and click here and you will see where the adventure took me)

(and here – a post 24th April, 2014 the journey continues)

and onwards …  2.May.14

About Wild Daffodil

hoarder of creative goodies that will someday come in useful, enabler and supporter of creativity, lifelong knitter, artist and fabulous Granny!
This entry was posted in crochet, knitting, other artists, painting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Frame?

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | stonechat

  2. Pingback: Crocheted Cushions | stonechat

  3. Pingback: Excited! | stonechat

  4. Pingback: Fun with Felt | stonechat

  5. Pingback: Summer Flight Throw | stonechat

  6. Pingback: Ripple, Ripple, Ripple | stonechat

  7. Pingback: Crochet cross country | stonechat

  8. Pingback: Crochet cross country | Wild Daffodil

  9. Pingback: Ripple, Ripple, Ripple | Wild Daffodil

  10. I had absolutely no idea what naff was and I do love learning new words, especially slangish. A brilliant finish and an improvement on the dripped paint which it covered up. Now I am going to check out two links I clicked to here. 🙂 You have another blog…

    Liked by 1 person

We love getting your comments and really value your feedback.

